· 

Depression / Mental Health

Are you depressed? Hoping to provide resources here to help you understand your condition. 

 

I felt a Funeral, in my Brain, (340) from Poetry Foundation.Org

BY EMILY DICKINSON

 

I felt a Funeral, in my Brain,

And Mourners to and fro

Kept treading - treading - till it seemed

That Sense was breaking through -

 

And when they all were seated,

A Service, like a Drum -

Kept beating - beating - till I thought

My mind was going numb -

 

And then I heard them lift a Box

And creak across my Soul

With those same Boots of Lead, again,

Then Space - began to toll,

 

As all the Heavens were a Bell,

And Being, but an Ear,

And I, and Silence, some strange Race,

Wrecked, solitary, here -

 

And then a Plank in Reason, broke,

And I dropped down, and down -

And hit a World, at every plunge,

And Finished knowing - then -

 

Depression, the secret we share | Andrew Solomon | TEDxMet

FROM YOUTUBE: Andrew Solomon is a writer and lecturer on politics, culture, and psychology. His latest book, Far From the Tree: Parents, Children, and the Search for Identity (2012), won the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction and eleven other national awards. Far From the Tree tells the stories of parents who not only learn to deal with their exceptional children, but also find profound meaning in doing so. Solomon's previous book, The Noonday Demon: An Atlas of Depression (2001), won the 2001 National Book Award for Nonfiction and was a finalist for the 2002 Pulitzer Prize.

 

Solomon is a lecturer in psychiatry at Weill Cornell Medical College. An activist and philanthropist in LGBT rights, mental health, education, and the arts, he lives with his husband and son in New York and London.

 

Here is his excellent 30 minute TEDxMet talk.

 

Depression, the secret we share