· 

It's an OMAD, 2MAD, MAD World

It is a mad, mad, mad world -- if you remember the film.  No, it is OK. Just think about the mad rush for fasting these days. At least 50% of those whom I truly follow are either on Keto, Carnivore, Vegan, OMAD, 2MAD, Intermittent fasting, fasting for days together. I see proud declarations, completed 72 hours of fast!

If truth be told, I myself have been posting on Twitter and my blog that I have completed 11.5 hours, 12 hours, and 13 hours of intermittent fasting. I lost 1.2 kgs in 3 days! With the help of rigorous diary keeping in cronometer and 1 hour of walk every day. 

 

From having 6-10 meals/snacks/bites every day, I have managed to come down to 4 square meals a day.  My geometry is very poor and so is my nutrition knowledge....so maybe it is 2 square meals and 2 round meals. If you got reminded of some triangular thingy then you are Tedha Hai Par Mera Hai! (Do not follow Hindi. Not to worry...it is a silly aside to keep my audience entertained.)

 

I have tried fasting for a day. I have tried Juice fast. I have tried Intermittent Fasting. Anything to lose weight and stay away from insulin resistance/diabetes and cardiovascular disease. Not sure why, but I am not really worried about cancer. 

 

I have tried eating "normal" but "keep control". This is a big, big scam. You are never going to lose weight. Because none of us eat "normal".  All of us eat abnormally. 

 

Dr Jagannath Dixit Diet Plan

 

This plan has been very popular for the last 5 years or so. Many people I know (ok, ok 2 people!) have been following it. They were doing 1 meal a day. Ops....OMAD is One Meal a Day and 2MAD is 2 Meals a Day. YouTube is filled with 2 hour long (and other lengths) videos of his popular Dixit Diet Plan lectures. Thousands have joined. Thousands are doing the plan via WhatsApp. A team of doctors monitors and supports these people. 

Here is an excellent 7-minute video in Marathi. For English version, please Google or go to YouTube and search. 

 

 #DrJagganathDixit #DixitDiet #TwoMealAday

Dr Dixit Diet Plan in Marathi ft Swapnil Joshi || Effortless weight loss || Mirchi Marathi || PART 1

 

Dr Dixit has written Effortless Weight Loss and Diabetes Prevention 👈 Amazon Link. Rs.111 after discount. 

Whether you see his video, attend his lectures, or read the book. His message is the same. He is not tired of repeating the same thing for the past several years. 

 

There are several problems to OMAD and 2MAD.  Dr Om J Lakhani, MD , DNB (Endocrine), Zydus Hospital, Ahmedabad, a crusader against quackery, questioned Dr Dixit's diet plan.  He has written an excellent rebuttal of Dr Dixit's claim that: 'insulin secretion is the same irrespective of the quantity of food consumed'. 

 

Here is the page:

 

Click on the link to read the entire page. Mind you, it is quite technical in parts but extremely well written that even I could understand it.

FAQ- Dr Dixit says “insulin secretion is same irrespective of the quantity of food consumed”. Is this true ? Not true at all !

 

He concludes:

‘Two-meal hypothesis’ is clearly wrong and has the potential to harm patients. Instead, have a good breakfast and take small frequent meals. That is the standard of care. And it is proven beyond any reasonable doubt.

 

My favourite nutritionist, Rujuta Diwekar,  also disagrees with the Dr Dixit Diet Plan. In a short 5 minute video in Marathi, filled with humour, and common sense, she disagrees with the diet. She was talking to Mumbai Policemen.

 

Here is her 5 minute video in Marathi, subtitled in English (by me!):

 

Is it healthy to eat only two meals a day?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-rgDvSP6LBs 

 

TMAD or 2MAD

 Robin @Robin63506 on Twitter asked:

TMAD refers to Two meals a day or Ten meals a day!

 

Nice one, Robin. 🤣

 

Am so glad I used 2MAD!

Conclusion

Eat less. Eat lesser number of meals.